Erin’s Shakshuka Recipe

I am sooo into the most simple recipes ever. I love to cook but sometimes hate how involved it can get. So, when I first decided to try this, it was a simple recipe, which is what attracted me. I haven’t been able to find the original, so I kind of made my own since then! It’s so good and so simple. I’ll add a picture when I can remember to snap one; I’m usually too hungry. 🙂

Erin’s Shakshuka
Here’s what I use:
Bell Pepper
Onion
Tomatoes
Garlic Cloves
Olive Oil
Eggs
Pita bread or rice
Cumin
Salt
Pepper
Other spices that sound good, such as but not limited to rosemary, sage, cayenne, garlic or onion powder, etc.
*Optional – Sometimes I throw in canned tomatoes like fire roasted or diced w/jalapenos.

Here’s what I do:

1. Saute pepper, onion and garlic cloves until about 1/2 done. (I like my veggies to keep a little crunch.)
2. Add tomatoes(canned and diced – lots of tomatoes in my world) and spices. Let this boil down a bit, and keep on stirring.
3. Crack eggs on top, and let simmer until they are done.
4. Serve hot with pita or rice.
Leave a Reply

