come on, rain.

the rain in australia is a welcome occurrence. it’s been so hot for so long, just enveloping everything and everyone. most of the grass i see is scorched. i’m not sure how that came about in merely a week, but it’s likely i wasn’t paying attention. it’s heavy and pouring this morning. it’s very, very early. the raindrops beating down on rooftops, trees, sidewalks, and the rest of the city woke me up.

i look at my phone and see “+1(21…” my heart starts pounding hard. my eyes focus more eagerly then they should. is it from him? has this message finally manifested? check it now, before it disappears! the last few weeks, i’ve been plagued with remembrances and desire. dreams that will not come to fruition, both waking and in sleep. it feels heavy, like the humidity that surrounds my body each day, but for my head and my heart.

it’s not. it won’t. my phone just restarted in the night and decided to play nasty tricks on me by not showing names until i open it. i can tell by the 4th number, it’s someone else i love. i should be excited to hear from them, yet i’m stricken with insomnia and 100 more thoughts of him. they have no where to go. they float around me like the hot, sticky heat has encased me. i hope it rains again soon. we all need some relief.

Leave a Reply

